So what’s the deal here anyways?

Hello everyone! As I’m sure you all know (since I’ve taken every available opportunity to talk about it) I’m headed to Mexico in January for almost 4 weeks of diving. I’d like to use this blog to share my adventures and stories of the trip, and hopefully of many other trips in the future as well. I have big plans to travel the world and since I think underwater is the most exciting place there is…I’m counting on having lots of stories to tell!

But first, a little bit about myself. I dream big, read ferociously, love good food and a challenge…and live to dive. I did a discover scuba course in Hawaii in August of 2010 and got hooked. Actually, “hooked” doesn’t really cut it…it changed my life. Suddenly, a whole world of possibilities opened for me and the exhilaration and fulfillment I’ve found logging time underwater constantly drives me to wonder where my next dive will be and how I can get there sooner. I became a certified diver in Cozumel, Mexico in January of 2011 and most recently I completed my rescue diver certification here at home. I’m currently working on my master scuba diver application, which I’ll have at the end of the January trip. Warren McKay, my awesome boyfriend and a Master Scuba Diver Trainer (I sure know how to pick a dive buddy!) is my partner in crime on this trip and hopefully he’ll be up for adding a few posts too.

So about the trip!! We’re leaving Edmonton on January 2nd, 2012 for Cabo San Lucas. We’ll spend 2 days there diving the Sea of Cortez, probably with Sunshine Dive & Charter (check them out here: http://www.divecabo.com). If all goes as planned, we’ll do 3 dives each day as well as a night dive. On the 5th we’ll be boarding the Aggressor live-aboard yacht and making a 24-28 hour crossing west out to the Rivillagigedos Archipelago. Never heard of it? Neither had I. More commonly known as the Socorro Islands, its a group of 4 small uninhabited volcanic islands lying approximately 250 miles off Mexico’s west coast. The draw here is for big animals…the world’s friendliest giant pacific manta rays, hammerhead sharks, silky sharks, galapagos sharks, black and white tipped reef sharks, humpback whales, dolphins, tuna, wahoo and more.

As the diving is considered advanced, I’ll be sticking close to my MSDT dive buddy! It’ll be a busy week of 3-4 dives a day for 5 straight days. Eat, dive, dive, eat, dive, dive, eat, sleep, repeat. To sweeten the deal, I’ll also get to check a few things off my bucket list while we’re there! I’ll definitely get to wake up on a boat with no land in sight and I’ve got my fingers seriously crossed for a wild dolphin encounter and seeing schooling hammerheads. It could happen! After making the return crossing and disembarking in Cabo on the 13th we’re headed to Cancun (first class baby, first class) and plan to make our way down to Playa Del Carmen where we’ll spend a day exploring¬† Cenotes – deep natural sinkholes that resulted from the collapse of limestone bedrock exposing groundwater underneath. On the 15th we’re hopping a ferry across to the beautiful island of Cozumel where we’ll meet up with our friends Kari & Matthew of Atkins Scuba for a week and a half of relaxed drift diving before returning home on the 26th. I’m also planning to do some training while we’re there. This trip is sure to lead to many amazing memories, new friends, a ridiculous amount of pictures and a hundred new reasons to go do more diving!

Thanks for reading and I hope I inspire at least a few of you to follow me into the water next time…

amy

Leave a Reply

