Grown Up Guppie

390 days, 71 dives, 3 trips, 6 different places, and 58 hours and 54 minutes of bottom time later…I’m a PADI Master Scuba Diver! The MSD is the highest non-professional rating in the PADI system of diving education. To get here I had to complete my open water course (which I did in Cozumel in January 2011), my advanced open water course (again in Cozumel the same month), my rescue diver course (locally here in Alberta in July of 2011), 5 specialty courses (I’ve done 11) and have logged at least 50 dives. My 50th dive was at a site called Delilah in Cozumel this past January. My first open water dive was on January 17th of 2011….and my 50th was on January 16th of 2012! 1 year less a day later and I’d qualified for MSD. I wasn’t rushing, I just really REALLY love to dive!

This is a big milestone for me and I’m super proud of my accomplishments so far. I’m also very thankful to all the wonderful instructors and dive buddies who got me here! I’m still thinking of myself as a guppie diver (ie- brand new), but Warren tells me I can’t call myself that anymore…guppies aren’t MSDs he says! So I guess now I’m a somewhat experienced(ish) diver who still has lots to learn but can probably handle more than she thinks she can. Yeah…that’s what I’ll go with for now.

I’m so looking forward to all the new places this sport will continue to take me, all the lessons I’ll learn in the future, and all the awesome new friends I’ll meet!

In closing I’d just like to say (and this is for Kari)…. WHOOOHOOO!!!

One Comment on “Grown Up Guppie

Leave a Reply

